Need to Know What the Penalties are for a DUI or an OVI in Ohio?

Below, please find a chart with Ohio DUI and OVI sentences and penalties.

No. and Type of OffenseDegree of OffenseIncarcerationFines 
1st in 10 years [simple OVI, low test or drug]M-13 days jail or DIP. Up to
6 months. [If Δ given
unlimited privileges with IID, jail to be suspended]
$375 – $1,075
1st in 10 years
and either: [a] high test, or [b] refusal with
prior in 20 years
M-16 days jail or 3 days jail
and DIP. Up to 6 months. [If Δ given unlimited privileges with IID, jail to be suspended]*
$375 – $1,075
2nd in 10 years [simple OVI, low test or drug]M-110 days jail or
5 days jail and 18 days HAEM and/or CAM.* Up to 6 months.
$525 – $1,625
2nd in 10 years
and either: [a] high test, or [b] refusal with
prior in 20 years
M-120 days jail or
10 days jail and 36 days HAEM and/or CAM.* Up to 6 months.
$525 – $1,625
3rd in 10 years [simple OVI, low test or drug]Unclassified misdemeanor30 days jail or
15 days jail and 55 days HAEM and/or CAM.* Up to 1 year.
$850 – $2,750
3rd in 10 years
and either: [a] high test, or [b] refusal with
prior in 20 years
Unclassified
misdemeanor
60 days jail or
30 days jail and 110 days HAEM and/or CAM.* Up to 1 year.
$850 – $2,750

IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER: Sawan & Sawan LLC has made every effort to ensure the accuracy of the information contained on this page. It is important to note that the laws in Ohio can change and while we’ve made every effort to make sure all of the information here is up to date, there is the possibility that a law has changed or something on this page does not reflect the exact state of the law at all times in the future. It is always critical to consult with a qualified Ohio DUI attorney if you are facing any type of DUI or OVI charge in Ohio.

 

Here are some changes in the new OVI law to remember

  1. First offense OVI suspension raised from 6 months to 1-year.
  2. Can petition court to reduce suspension to 6 month.
  3. Unlimited driving privileges now available with an interlock device
  4. Obtaining an interlock device will suspend the jail time imposed.
  5. If the person violates the interlock order, jail time will be imposed.
  6. If the person gets the interlock, they must obtain a restricted license-failure to do so will result in a Driving Under Suspension charge

After serving one-half of the suspension period, a person may apply for reinstatement of their driver’s license. In the past, the minimum suspension was 6 months. A first OVI offender now faces a minimum of a 1-year suspension with the ability to petition the court at a later date to reduce the suspension period to 6 months.

After the driving suspension period is up, a reinstatement fee of $475 must be paid to the Ohio BMV. Proof of insurance that is current as of the end date of the suspension or when the person reinstates-whichever is later must be presented to the BMV as well.

Sawan & Sawan – DUI Lawyers in Toledo, OH

 

Sawan & Sawan is an Ohio based DUI and OVI defense law firm with Ohio DUI attorneys licensed to practice law in the State of Ohio. If you were arrested for a DUI or an OVI in Ohio or have an issue with your driver’s license in Ohio and would like to speak further about your specific legal matter, call Sawan & Sawan today at 1-866-INJURY-0 or 419-900-0955 to schedule a free consultation.

 

416 N Erie St Ste 200A, Toledo, OH 43604